Steve April 1, 2021
beware-of-facebook-scams-claiming-you-can-see-your-profile-visitors

Home Facebook Related Beware of Facebook Scams Claiming You Can See Your Profile Visitors

If you see a post or private message on Facebook claiming that you can view a list of your profile visitors, don’t click on it.

The latest versions of these posts are phishing scams designed to steal your Facebook account login credentials.

If you fall for the ruse and click, you’ll be taken to a fake website that, at least at first glance, looks like it is part of Facebook.

Here’s a screenshot of one such scam website:

Facebook View Profile List Scam Website

If you click ‘View List”, you’ll then be asked to enter your Facebook login credentials:

Facebook View Profile List Scam Login Page

After “logging in” on the fake site, your browser will automatically redirect you to a completely unrelated news website.

But, the scammers can nab the login details you entered and use them to hijack your Facebook account. Once they have gained access, they can lock you out and pretend to be you. They can publish spam and scam posts and send messages that your Facebook friends will think came from you. And you may find it very difficult to regain control of your account.

Be wary of any post or message that claims that you can click a link or install an app that allows you to view your profile visitors. All of them are scams.

The Facebook Help Center includes the following question and answer:

Can I know who’s looking at my Timeline or how often it’s being viewed?

No. Facebook doesn’t let you track who views your profile or your posts (ex: your photos). Third-party apps are also unable to do this. If you come across an app that says it can show you who’s viewing your profile or posts, please report the app.

View your Facebook profile visitors scams are certainly not new. In fact, they have been around in various forms from soon after Facebook launched.

Earlier versions usually tried to trick users into installing a rogue Facebook app. Installing such apps permitted them to post the same profile viewer scam messages on the user’s profile. The scam messages then attempted to trick people into providing their personal information on dodgy “survey” websites, signing up for absurdly expensive SMS subscriptions, or downloading malware-laden software.

Don’t get caught! To reiterate, any post or message that promises the ability to see who has visited your profile is sure to be a scam.

close

Since you’ve read this far…

…can I ask you for a big favour?

To enhance your privacy and security and offer you a better user experience, Hoax-Slayer is now ad-free. To keep the site online, I now rely on voluntary contributions from site visitors along with commissions from a few trusted products and services that I promote via reviews on the site.

If you found the above report useful, please consider supporting Hoax-Slayer by making a donation. Any amount you can give will be greatly appreciated.

You can donate using your credit card via the form below. Donations are collected securely via the online payment service Stripe. Stripe uses state of the art security to keep your data safe.

Thank-you.

Brett Christensen

Read More