Steve August 29, 2020
Conor Coady and Ainsley Maitland-Niles
Conor Coady, left, and Ainsley Maitland-Niles

Wolves captain Conor Coady and Arsenal full-back Ainsley Maitland-Niles have been added to Gareth Southgate’s England squad for the Nations League games against Iceland and Denmark.

Wolves centre-back Coady, 27, has played every Premier League game for his side for the past two seasons.

Maitland-Niles was man of the match on Sunday and scored in the shootout as Arsenal beat Liverpool to win the Community Shield on his 23rd birthday.

It is a first call-up for both players.

Both have represented England at youth level – Coady captaining his side to the 2010 European Under-17 Championship and Maitland-Niles winning the 2017 Under-20 World Cup.

England’s players will meet up at St George’s Park on Monday.

Southgate’s side face their Euro 2016 conquerors Iceland in Reykjavik on 5 September before playing Denmark in Copenhagen three days later.

The disruption caused to the football calendar by coronavirus, including Euro 2020 being delayed by a year until 2021, means England have not played since November 2019, when a 4-0 win in Kosovo concluded their Euro 2020 qualification campaign.

Coady is a direct replacement for Harry Maguire, who was withdrawn from the squad by manager Southgate on Tuesday after being given a suspended prison sentence on the Greek island of Syros.

The Manchester United captain, who was found guilty of aggravated assault, resisting arrest and repeated attempts of bribery, has since appealed against the decision, meaning the conviction has been nullified in accordance with Greek law.

He told the BBC he feared for his life and thought he was being kidnapped during the incident on Mykonos.

Southgate said withdrawing Maguire was “in the best interests of all parties”.

England squad

Goalkeepers: Dean Henderson, Jordan Pickford, Nick Pope.

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold, Conor Coady, Eric Dier, Joe Gomez, Michael Keane, Ainsley Maitland-Niles, Tyrone Mings, Kieran Trippier, Kyle Walker.

Midfielders: Phil Foden, Mason Mount, Kalvin Phillips, Declan Rice, James Ward-Prowse, Harry Winks.

Forwards: Tammy Abraham, Mason Greenwood, Danny Ings, Harry Kane, Marcus Rashford, Jadon Sancho, Raheem Sterling.

from the BBC

Read More